New Year, Same Me, (but doing More Interesting Things!)

-It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to heaven, we were all going direct the other way – in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.

I love this quote. It’s Charles Dickens, from the beginning of A Tale of Two Cities. I’ll remember that forever now, having got it wrong in a pub quiz once. However, the law of pub quizzing demands that I will never again encounter that as a question. Annoying. I always think of it at New Year, when everyone is summing up the previous year. For me, 2012 has mostly felt like the best of times. Perhaps there has not been a huge amount of wisdom, but certainly lots of light and hope and having everything before us.  There have been some worst bits too (as there always are. The superlative degree of comparison and all.)

My New Year’s resolution last year in 2012 was to write a blog. I’ve loved it.

Magic 8ball pen

I’m ready for the challenges of 2013 now though. First up will be prettying up, expanding and tweaking this blog. As Tilly in Miranda would say: ‘bear with, bear with…’  it might take a few weeks. I am the least technical-minded person in our house. I should really get one of the children to help. They’d definitely be quicker and probably more stylish.  But please keep reading, commenting, sharing and even shouting at me in the street:  “hey – nice blog!” – Ok, that’s only happened the once. But I did not object. I just dropped all the stuff I was carrying.

I’m not sure about a New Year’s Resolution this year. I should definitely eat a bit less cheese, and I seem to have developed fatted-calves syndrome, which is threatening to break the zip on my lovely new boots, so I should squeeze some Lycra on and get exercising more.  But I was thinking today of how much more fun it is to try to do new things.

‘New Year, Same You ! (but do More Interesting Things!)’  is my catchy working slogan.  So far, am thinking:

Eat at a new (as in somewhere you’ve never been before) restaurant once a month

Try a new cocktail each month

Go to one live music event every month

I am much less likely to break these than the giving-up kind of resolutions, and they sound way more fun. 2013 – the year of lots of hard work but a new cocktail each month just sounds like a great plan to me!

In September 2013,  my littlest girl goes to school.  And the wonderful, exhausting,  frustrating and yet magical years of being at home with my three lovely children will come to an end. I’m excited for her, and about the freedom and the possibilities for me, and at the same time I’m terrified of the finality of it. 2013, whatever I achieve, whatever I don’t manage to do, will be momentous.

Future

Leave a Reply

