The Tale of Nancy and the Unicorn

This is a bit of a saga – you might need a cup of tea to accompany the following blog. Or some Kendall Mint Cake – that should sustain you. As the immortal Tilly (not mine, the one in Miranda) says ‘Bear with, bear with…’ Interestingly, Sally Phillips, who plays Tilly, describes her as Miranda’s friend, “monster idiot” and “language disease.” This is entirely by-the-by, but it turns out that Tilly is my new word-crush. I shall henceforth be using far more of her language right here in my blog.

Image

Sample: “I presume you are kiddingtons?” (translation: I hope you are joking.)

Back to unicorns. A while ago, Polly went through a unicorn-obsessed stage. As Polly likes to draw whatever she is thinking about at the time, the house slowly filled with unicorn pictures. I looked up some on the internet for her to look at; she wanted to know what colour they were and whether they had tails or not. And most of the pictures of unicorns looked something like this:

Pink Unicorn

Which is fine, if you like that kind of thing. But unicorns are such  interesting creatures; mythological, enchanted, magical. Powerful. Not swirly and pink (I don’t think. I do realise that they don’t really exist, by the way. Or probably don’t exist, anyway…) I suddenly wanted, very much, to do a t-shirt with a unicorn on.  And I remembered an artist that I had met at a craft stall once. She was selling artwork, and some bags that she had decorated with a chicken-print. Sarah and I loved them. They all had different decorations on, and we couldn’t decide which one we liked best, so in the end, we went and chose one for each other. I still use mine all the time. (This is a good explanation of how we tend to make very little at craft fairs  - if we sell stuff, we nearly always go and buy something.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The artists’ name was Nancy. Have a look at her website; her work is beautiful.  I finally plucked up the courage to arrange to meet her -I am always nervous of meeting people whose work I really admire; and she was bound to be really arty and cool, possibly a bit aloof . I met her in Pensieri, where she sells some of her work occasionally.  She was indeed arty and cool, but also really really lovely, disarmingly honest and interested in what I was doing with the t-shirts.  I liked her straight away, which clearly helps if you want to work with someone.  I love the idea of putting art on t-shirts. It’s a great way of owning and wearing brilliant, original artworks, and at the same time supporting local artists (and t-shirt designers – ahem.) Nancy drew and painted me the most amazing unicorn head. It was bold,  and floral at the same time. Perfect. I loved it.  And we printed it on a t-shirt. And it was nice: sweet, girly,  and pretty.  Polly liked it, other girls liked it. I wasn’t sure. I wanted to love it but it just wasn’t right. I fretted about it. I hate being disappointed with stuff. So I sold a few, but felt kind of bad. It just wasn’t the unicorn I had hoped.

So I worried for a bit longer, and then I got bored with being disappointed, and rang our t-shirt printing guru, Tricia, and told her I wanted to try again; to do the unicorn justice. I took a  deep breath and told myself that the extra expense would be worth it. I chose a different t-shirt colour to make the design stand out, and I told Tricia to make it BIG.

And NOW I’m happy.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think it is both marvilisimous and tremendulant.

Want one? They go on sale this week. Very limited edition at the moment, but if they go down well there will be more!  You can buy them at our folksy shop here. Or email sarahandaliceclothing@gmail.com. They are a bit more expensive than usual. It’s a sad necessity. The prices of our t-shirts have gone up in the last year or so, but I am determined to stick with good-quality, ethically produced t-shirts. We could go cheaper but we’ve stuck with our principles. And with t-shirts we love the quality of.

Leave a Reply

